Proper Cookies....

Please can anyone help me - I have been baking cookies now for months on end trying to find a really good proper cookie recipe. All the ones I have found have not been of any success. They end up like cakes, or a melted mass of bubbling butter on a baking tray. I’m a good cook - and so I know I’m reading the recipe correctly and doing everything right. So it must be the recipes I am using. I am based in England, however I have no problem converting measurements - so any recipes will help. PLEASE PLEASE HELP ME. I am after a proper American cookie as I would call it, crunchy on the outside, chewy in the middle and big that kind of thing - Like the ones you get in Starbucks cafe or in Tesco’s if anyone knows what I am on about please help me. Many thanks

Starbuck’s Italian Date Thumbprints
Posted by FootsieBear at recipegoldmine.com 7/17/01 9:35:05 am

Source: wfaa.com - Melody Brown demonstrated the recipe which aired on Wednesday, December 16, 1998

These versatile, soft, buttery cookies are as fun to make as they are to eat. They can also be made in a chocolate version by substituting 2 tablespoons of cocoa for the flour. For a dressier presentation, add 1 teaspoon of Turkish (finely) ground coffee, form into balls, roll into confectioners’ sugar following baking for miniature Italian wedding cakes.

Yields approximately 36 cookies

1 cup plus 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
3 1/2 tablespoons potato flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chopped dates
1/2 cup hot double-strength Starbucks Christmas
Blend or other dark roast coffee
1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 egg
1 tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup orange marmalade

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper or lightly grease.

Sift together flour, potato flour, baking powder and salt; set aside.