The Perfect Pot Roast

Hi everyone. I’m new here and would like to contribute some of my tried and true recipes. Been cooking almost everyday since age 15. My wonderful Dad who since passed away, taught me much.

I’m a professional singer by trade. (15 yrs as a member of The “Lettermen”) On my many USO tours to Europe, i picked up quite a few Recipes and cooking tips.

The following recipe and cooking technique came from an elderly Italian Lady living on the outskirts of Rome Italy. For many year’s, I searched for a way to cook the Perfect Pot Roast. Since i was at the Mercy of the cut’s of meat’s, it was always a hit and miss thing. This wonderful Lady shared the following with me, and ever since, Every Pot roast has come out darn near perfect.

The Following works great with either Chuck or English cut.
Approx 2 1/2 to 3 Lb Roast

Liberally rub both sides of Roast with EVOO

Cut a number of slits, approx 1/2 deep all over roast

Insert cut Garlic deep into slits, then squeeze meat together to close the pocket a bit

Proceed with Cracked Pepper along with a small amount of Oregano, along with Italian dressing (from bottle) over entire roast.

Now heres the trick for the Perfect Roast----Place meat in Deep Roasting pan. Add ONLY 1/2 cup of water to bottom of pan.

Seal Roasting Pan VERY TIGHTLY with aluminum foil, making sure there are No gaps. DO NOT slit or punch holes in foil.

Place in 275 degree oven.

Cook this way for approx 2 hr’s

Carefully remove foil, since your going to reuse it and Baste Roast with Juices at bottom of pan.

Reseal Pan with Foil, but this time, Poke a few holes at top, and continue baking an additional 1:15 to 1:30.

Take pan out of oven and again carefully remove the Foil. Turn oven up to 325 then place uncovered Roast roast in oven for an additional 10 to 15 min, as it will brown Beautifully.

Let Roast stand 10 min before slicing. It will be totally moist, Flavorful and Fork tender each and every time.