Cooking eye of round?

Hey guys. This is my first post here. I’m a college student and I’m trying to cook for myself more, but I’m still really inexperienced in the kitchen. My grocery store had some thin sliced eye of round on sale, so I picked it up. Now I don’t want to do with it. I’ve got a crockpot… but I don’t know how I should cook them.

Any ideas? :wink:

Try this using your eye of the round.

Chicken-Fried Steak Ingredients:
1 1/2 pounds of top-round steak
2 cups of flour
3 eggs
1/2 cup of milk or buttermilk
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of cracked black pepper (can also add cayenne to add more heat).
Lard or vegetable oil

Method:
Cut your top-round steak into four pieces.
Pound beef with a meat tenderizer until flattened and almost doubled in size.
Place flour in a large bowl and season with salt and pepper to taste.
Mix eggs in another large bowl with milk.
Take piece of tenderized beef and coat in flour. Dip coated beef into egg mixture and then dip and pat in Panko crumbs.

Heat on medium enough oil or lard to fill halfway up the sides of a cast-iron skillet. When a drop of water makes the oil sizzle, it’s ready for frying.
Take the coated beef and place it in the skillet. When the blood (red-meat juice) starts bubbling out of the top of the steak (about three to four minutes) gently turn it over with a long fork (using a spatula can cause the oil to splash out of the skillet). Cook another five minutes and then take the chicken-fried steak out of the pan and drain on a paper-towel-lined plate.

Repeat process for remaining cutlets. And while you’re frying the others, you can keep the cooked steaks warm in the oven.

Makes four chicken-fried steaks. Serve with cream gravy made from the pan drippings. You can plate it with any vegetables you like, but mashed potatoes are the traditional side of choice. For salad serve it a wedge of iceberg lettuce filled with blue-cheese dressing.