help for foods rich in iron

I’m having a real hard time with being anemic but I cant take iron pills, they make me sick. Could you let me know foods that are rich in iron. Thank you!!!

Hi Shelley!

I, too, am anaemic. I’ve been battling microcytic anaemia for the past 4 years, which is iron-deficiency anaemia. Some people are low in folic acid and vitamin B12…macrocytic anaemia.

I also have rheumatoid arthritis and, therefore, when I take iron pills, they cause more inflammation and more pain. So I don’t take them like I should…I try to get it from foods.

First of all, you need vitamin C to help your body absorb the iron better. Coffee, tea, and pop prevents your body from absorbing iron.

If you have a sweet tooth, like I do, I make date squares by using: fresh orange juice (not concentrate) instead of water, BLACK STRAP molasses instead of brown sugar. The dates, oatmeal, and black strap molasses all have iron. It has to be black strap molasses though. The fresh orange juice has folic acid.

Any vegetable dark in colour are good: dark green, dark red, deep orange, etc.

Asparagus is high in iron.
Fresh nuts such as walnuts and almonds.
Vitamin B12 can be found in red meats and certain veggies like broccoli.
Eggs have iron.

If you like beef liver, it’s the best! I don’t care to eat organ meats but a couple years ago, I had no choice. It was either eat it or get a blood transfusion or worry about kidney shutdown. So I ate it for breakfast, lunch and dinner for 3 days! At every bite, I would say…blood transfusion…kidney shutdown…LOL…this enabled me to it.

Welsh’s white grape juice also is good for you. It helps your body absorb the iron.

Iron Rich Foods for Iron Deficiency Anemia
Written by: Gloria Tsang, RD
last updated: November 2004